Wealth garden

Sorry guys, I was meant to blog about 2 weeks ago! I am afraid I had few recipes I worked on and had an intention to share. Sadly they didn’t turn out good enough to share. I hate this happening when you are making your own recipes. Plus I don’t share anything I don’t like, I need to test and test before sharing. I’m going to lay off the recipe creation for a while, just too much disappointing results 😦

Moving along Ms D and I went to yum cha at Wealth Garden. I am so happy because I haven’t had yum cha for a while close to a few months! Definitely satisfied my craving. We ordered so much food between 4 people and best thing is it came with a small price tag. What’s convenient about Wealth Garden is they have their own car park and there is also a bus stop right in front (279 goes by).

What really bugs me about the yum cha I experience in Melbourne is that most dim sums places seem to come in threes. Back in Sydney it usually comes in fours. Its frustrating when you have a perfect yum cha table of four! What are you guys thoughts about this?

I couldn’t fault any of the food here here at Wealth Garden. We ate our food so fast :). Not much I can say about the food but I love every dish we ordered!

IMG_9193
pork ribs

IMG_9194
Chicken feet

IMG_9195
bean curd rolls

IMG_9196
Gai lan

IMG_9197
“ma-lay cake”

IMG_9198
har gow

IMG_9199
siu mai

IMG_9200
cheong fun with char siu

IMG_9201
sticky rice with lap cheong

IMG_9202
deep fried taro dumplings

IMG_9203
“low sah bao”

IMG_9206
prawns + quail eggs

Thank you Ms D for introducing us to Wealth Garden and I can’t wait to return soon :). I recommended making a booking as it gets packed during lunch hours.

866 Doncaster Road
Doncaster East, VIC 3109

Wealth Garden Chinese Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

20 responses

  1. Yummo! I love a good yum cha sesh πŸ˜€ I don’t think my family has been here before so will be keen to try it out next time we have cravings for yum cha hehe xo

  2. I’m a bit like that too with my recipes. I tweak it and it’s never perfect hence why I don’t share. I don’t want to mislead people. Sigh.
    Yeah I find that off Melbourne yum cha items comes in 3, some stuff in Sydney do as well. What a pain when it comes to who needs to sacrifice their portion :p

    • Glad you feel the same one. I love to share and I simply don’t want to give people the awful recipes!
      it’s hard we gotta split the siu mai!

  3. This place is close to my house but I’ve yet to try it, funnily enough. I will see if I can convince my folks tomorrow or something haha.

    I had no idea that the 3 dumpling arrangement was a Melbourne thing and the 4 dumpling thing a Sydney thing (then again, never had yum cha in Sydney). I agree, it IS a pain in the arse. Personally, the best way to divide har gows equally is to have everyone order their own basket πŸ˜€

  4. Hey Julie πŸ™‚ So glad you liked Wealth Garden and we sure cleared everything SO quickly hehe i think it was also because we re HUNGRYYYY πŸ˜› and it was YUMMY hehe

    Can’t wait to do it again with you and Zac ~ and I never thought about the 3 dimsum or 4 dimsum thing cuz hhahaha it’s always 3 in Melbourne and Hk πŸ˜›

  5. Owhhh thanks for sharing this place I’ve gotta try Wealth Garden too! Good alternative from the usual Yum Cha places. And hey, I think I’m the same with you re: recipes. Partly why I’ve been delaying my recipes too just cause I’m not entirely satisfied with the photos and gives me time to recook them AGAIn to see if anything I can change. But worth it, Juls. Ppl like me would trust your cooking even more because we know you put so much effort into getting them right, so thanks for that =)

Comments are closed.