Momofuku Pork Buns

There is a lot of bookmarks in my momofuku cookbook. I been wanting to find an opportunity to make the pork buns for a while. When the food bloggers spring picnic event pop up, it sprang to mind that the pork buns can feed enough people as the recipe makes 50 buns.

I did decide to break down the recipe over two nights as there is no way I could cook everything on Saturday morning as I definitely want to reserve my mornings for sleep. (I generally would sleep until 2pm given that I have free time shhhh)

Recipes used in momofuku:
Pork belly recipe
Quick pickles recipe
steamed buns recipe

Also to tie everything together the Momofuku Pork bun recipe which is basically how to prep your bun.

The steamed buns is very much like a mantou. A problem occur with my dough, it didn’t double in size so I suspected it was to do with how cold my kitchen was. In the end the result was about 32 buns.

Mr Chang tells us to get the pork belly without the skin or to simply buy pork belly with skin, but to cut it off. I am sorry Mr Chang but I can’t do pork belly without the lovely crackling of pork skin, pork skin stays okay? The sound of Pork crackling in the oven is music to my ears mmm.

I wouldn’t say the recipe took very “long”. It just felt very long because there is time intervals involved i.e leave dough to rise for 1.5 hours etc then *insert step* leave for another *insert time*. I love this recipe! I would say its my 2nd favourite after the ramen. If I didn’t love ramen and noodles so much it would definitely top the list.

00Img_4981
Pork belly straight out of the oven.

buns
End result – steamed bun, pork belly, hoisin sauce, quick pickled cucumbers and spring onions. Didnt look as pretty as I want it to be but oh wells! (Picture re-stolen from suze due to her better colouring of my photo πŸ™‚ )

Thinking of making your own?
The recipe can be found on gourmet traveller here and here. There is a few other parts but google can help with that πŸ˜‰

P.S. It was lovely to meet everyone from the Food bloggers spring picnic. Will be blogging about it soon need to go through many photos! Also thanks for polishing off my pork buns!

19 responses

  1. Quick post!! The porkie buns are well worth the effort especially it got ur hands on foooooood vouchers πŸ˜€

    you’re right! The crackling was the best thing about it. What was mr chang thinking?!

  2. omg these were so good! i loved the sticky sauce and the crackling was such a nice surprise crunch when you bit into the bun so i’m glad you left it on! awesome work πŸ™‚

  3. The cracking was the best part! Loved it when I bit down and heard that lovely crackle crackle sound. Had to resist the urge to go back for a 2nd πŸ˜€

  4. Hey Julie,

    Congratulations on your prize winning entry. Just saw your prize in your tweet. Soooo cool! Andy was in my running group last year. We both trained with Can Too for the Half marathon and then a few of us went to Bel Mondo to celebrate the week after. It was really nice. I’m sure you will love your prize.

  5. I simply couldn’t say no to a big slab of juicy pork belly, I could have done a few, but best to let others have them πŸ˜›

  6. JULIE! Well deserved win and they were sooooo yummmmyyyy…..still dreaming of them. The pork was spot on, but I loved the pickled cucumbers that completed the dish πŸ™‚

  7. OMG, OMG, I had the last one! I’m so glad you decided to leave the crackling on, this was a gorgeously moreish dish and I wish I had grabbed another one a bit earlier!

  8. I’ve always wanted to taste these but have always been lazy to make it. So thank you so much for bringing them! I really loved the crackling with the cucumbers! Thanks for coming out and hope you enjoy the prize πŸ˜€

  9. Pingback: Sydney Food Blogger’s Mad Hatter’s Picnic « Phuoc'n Delicious

  10. Pingback: Momofuku Seiobo | Melbourne & Sydney Food Blog – I dream in chocolate

Comments are closed.