Grasshopper’s Feast

This gorgeous cafe was stumbled across by accident. Mr himself and I were extremely hungry and really needed somewhere to have brunch after running errands all morning. We originally planned to stop by Petaling Street to grab a Singapore breakfast. Sadly they don’t open early anymore and have dropped providing breakfast. I wonder why they still plastered the breakfast posters inside, such false advertising. However it was a blessing in disguise stumbling upon this cafe situated in “the Causeway” off little Collins Street and Bourke Street. Luckily, when we arrived we were given the last table outside.

IMG_9045

I am not sure how new this place since I haven’t heard anything about it nor have I came across it through blogs. The breakfast menu had quite a number of options. I had my eyes over the zucchini and corn fritters. Corn fritters are my weakness and when I see them on a menu I would always order them.

IMG_9073
Large coffee, so massive!

IMG_9072
Earl grey Tea, love the little milk bottle.

IMG_9076
Zucchini and corn fritters with poached egg, bacon and avocado salsa. When my fritters arrived, the first thing I noticed is how much they look more like muffins. I was highly concerned, I’m used to the flat fritters. Upon biting they didn’t disappoint. It was so fluffy. The texture was close to a muffin but is amazingly soft on the inside. Paired with the egg, bacon and salsa it was delicious on three different levels.

IMG_9048
3 egg terracotta pot with tomato chutney, chorizo, spinach and goats cheese. I was eyeing this on the menu as well but luckily Mr had decided to ordered them. The eggs in pot are slightly spiced and perfectly warm on a cold day, it was a reminiscent of shakshouka. It was a bit of a small serving for the Mr but he happily gobbled it up in minutes, with me stealing every bit when he wasn’t looking.

On the second visit I was eyeing the potato rosti and the feta eggs. Mr, on this occasion has decided to order the zucchini and corn fritters, since he was jealous of my meal last time. I opp-ed for the feta eggs and made a note to order the potato rosti on my next visit. When I saw a waitress float pass with the potato rosti, my eyes glared with envy. I wished I order it in the first place.

IMG_9075
The eggs with feta. spinach & dukkah was moreish, lack a bit of feta but I think the combination with small bits of feta worked fine. If there was more feta it probably dominate the flavouring of the eggs. It was tasty but couldn’t help but wonder if I would be happier if I’d ordered the Potato Rosti. It’s a must order for our next visit.

I love this cafe, it’s such a perfect breakfast gem. I haven’t been to many breakfast cafes in Melbourne yet but I am highly impressed and definitely will return for many more visits. The staff are extremely lovely on both occasions as well.

Readers, do you love a restaurant that offers all day breakfast?

Shop 13 The Causeway
Melbourne, VIC 3000
http://www.grasshoppersfeast.com.au/

Grasshopper's Feast on Urbanspoon

30 responses

  1. Yes yes yes for all-day breakfast! I once used to work nights and would wake up about 2 in the afternoon craving a huge continental breakfast…which I could rarely find. Now, that’s absolutely unfair! πŸ˜› I love the look of your corn fritters, so inviting.

  2. I love fritters too! So glad to hear they were still fluffy although they do look like muffins! (: Would love to try this place out! hehe my all time fav all day brekkie place is Proud Mary! hehe Never fails!

  3. I totally love places that do all day breakfast because that means you don’t need to get up early on the weekends and wait for hours and hours lol everything looks great there think its time I made a trip too hehe πŸ™‚

  4. Hey Julie! Thanks for the recommendation. I-Hua and I caught up (with a few friends) here last Saturday because of that. What a nice find in the city. LOVE the interior and even the menu is so cute. Hope you continue to “stumble” upon more places like these to share with us haha. Take care!

  5. yum! a cheesy breakfast πŸ˜€
    so many great places to eat at in melbourne, my list is getting to long for my next visit!

  6. Pingback: Grasshopper's Feast @ The Causeway, Melbourne CBD - Hop This Way | The Chronicles of Ms I-Hua

Comments are closed.